CES Team

Wilfried Martens Centre for European Studies

The Wilfried Martens Centre for European Studies (previously the Centre for European Studies) was established in 2007 as the political foundation and official think tank of the European People’s Party (EPP). It embodies a pan-European mind-set based on centre-right, Christian Democrat, conservative and like-minded political values and research. It serves as a framework for national political foundations linked to member parties of the EPP, with 29 foundations currently members. The Martens Centre takes part in the preparation of EPP programmes and policy documents. It organises seminars and training on EU policies and on the process of European integration.

The Centre also contributes to formulating EU and national public policies. It produces research studies and books, policy briefs, and the twice-yearly European View journal. Its research activities are divided into six clusters: party structures and EU institutions, economic and social policies, EU foreign policy, environment and energy, values and religion, and new societal challenges. Through its papers, publication launches, conferences and online activities, the Martens Centre offers a platform for discussion among experts, politicians, policymakers and the European public. At the beginning of 2014, the Centre was renamed in honour of its late President and founder, Wilfried Martens, the EPP’s long-standing President and former Prime Minister of Belgium.

Our Goals

Advancing centre-right thought
Contributing to the formulation of EU and national policies
Serving as a framework for national political foundations and academics
Stimulating public debate about the EU

Academic Council

The Executive Board nominates esteemed academics and researchers as members of the Academic Council in order to increase the academic scope of the Centre and oversee the scientific standards of its research, studies and activities. This includes enhancing its standing and visibility in the academic sphere, contributing with expertise, advice and ideas to ensure the Centre is always pursuing cutting-edge research. The Academic Council also proposes new and innovative projects and implements the highest standard of peer review.

Research Associates

General Assembly

The General Assembly is composed of the representatives of the Centre’s political foundations/think-tanks members and of individual members. Both these organisations and the individual members represent the interests of the European People’s Party and of its member-parties In order for a political foundation/think-tank to become a member of the Centre, it must be recognized by its respective EPP member party and be engaged in promoting political information and debate and facilitating EU integration. Additionally, the Centre can accept supporting members as non-voting members. All members have to be committed to support the objectives and aims of the Centre.

Our Members

The Wilfried Martens Centre for European studies functions as a pan-European platform for our member foundations, individuals and think tanks from all over Europe that share the central values of the European People’s Party family and of its centre-right partners. In working closely together we strive firstly to contribute to the public awareness of European citizens, thus bringing the European debate closer to the public. Secondly, by bringing together the brightest minds of Europe we strive to help our decision-makers and opinion leaders, such as EPP Heads of State and Governments and party leaders to formulate new and effective policy options. Together with its members, the Centre currently organises more than 100 activities every year across all Europe, ranging from publications, research projects, conferences, trainings and other events. Currently, the Centre has 29 member foundations and 16 individual members and is continuously expanding its network.

Members Map

Individual Members

Individual members are politically like-minded senior level professionals active in European politics, European institutions and related organisations. They participate in the meetings of the General Assembly and offer their perspective on the overall strategy and goals of the Centre and how to attain them.


  • Alena Dzemidzenka
  • Ana Maria Martin
  • Andraz Kastelic
  • Andrea Vodanovic
  • Angelos-Stylianos Chryssogelos
  • Antonios Nestoras
  • Bonnie Chan
  • Christophe Christiaens
  • Corina Suceveanu
  • Cristina Ferrara
  • Davide Casale
  • Diana Wasilewska
  • Elaine Larsen
  • Eline Storeide
  • Elizabeth Mary O’Brien
  • Enda McNamara
  • Erik Zolcer
  • Eugeniusz Smolar
  • Ewelina Pach
  • Ferdinando Palmeri
  • Florian Hartleb
  • Giovanni Mastrobuono
  • Guillaume Périgois
  • Helena Lamb
  • Henna Hopia
  • Ivan Delibasic
  • Iván Glasovac
  • John Lageson
  • Katarína Králiková
  • Kate O’Sullivan
  • Lauren Zoebelein
  • Ľubica Nádašská
  • Lucia Vesnic-Alujevic
  • Maarten Marechal
  • Marianna Zoupa
  • Matthieu Ravillon
  • Meri Demirci
  • Mojca Kucler Dolinar
  • Naďa Kovalčíková
  • Nicolas Alexandris
  • Patricia Murray
  • Rodrigo Castro Nacarino
  • Santiago Robles Monsalve
  • Sara Seastrand
  • Stian Tvede Karlsen
  • Vesta Ratkevičiūtė
  • Vincenzo Aldo Conforti
  • Xóchil Guillen-Sautter